Book Review: The Maze Runner by James Dashner (The Maze Runner #1)

The_Maze_Runner_coverJamesDashner1

I’m pretty excited to talk about this. If you didn’t know this book is turning into a movie, I’ll leave the trailer below.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K1In45K0DGc

Synopsis:

“If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.”

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers–boys whose memories are also gone.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out–and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying

My Thoughts:

So I’ve been told by countless people who I need to read this book because it’s amazing & I’ll love it. I had also watched the movie trailer & decided it’s time, I want to see the movie in September, but I want to read the book first. My younger brother also wanted to read it & we decided to split the cost & bought the box set. Going into it I had super-duper high expectations, but I was kind of let down. I was so bored for more than half of the book. Once I had maybe 20 chapters left it started getting good up until that point there was a lot of just standing around, & asking questions & it got super annoying. There are multiple characters you’re being told about it & sometimes it’s a little overwhelming. I do have to say the last 20 chapters totally redeemed the book for me. I really enjoyed the last part of the book. My brother has finished the whole series in exactly a week & promises me that they get better. There is some violence in this book, so I would leave it up to the parent to decided what age they think would be appropriate since every person is different. I liked this book, but it’s not my favourite dystopian book I’ve read.

Content Guide:

Violence: **** (The book shows a violent world where chosen children in a maze are mere pawns. They face mortal danger from the monsters outside the walls and mortal danger inside from boys who have been stung (but not killed) by the monsters. Some boys go insane. Boys attack monsters with guns, knives, and spears. Adult Creators of the Maze control everyone in it and don’t stop at murdering children. Disease and pestilence run rampant in the outside world. A climax where many characters are killed by gunfire.)

Drugs/Alcohol: None

Inappropriate Language: ** (93 bloodies)

Sexual content: None

Magic/Spells: None

My Overall Score:

3-5-stars-1024x238

Happy Reading

owl

Alisha

Book Info:

Type: Trade Paperback

Publishing: Delcatore | August 24th, 2010

Pages: 375

Book Review: The Selection Stories: The Prince & The Guard (The Selection #0.5, #2.5)

18172471

CassKiera-ap1-c

So this is something new, these are called Novellas, they’re basically small books before the 1st book & in between the second & last. This is a new fad that authors are starting to do in order to give you back story & to hold you over while they are working on their sequels. There are only 2 here & the 3rd one which is The Queen will be released in December. This is what the cover looks like.

Print

Anyways let’s get to the review.

Synopsis:

Two novellas set in the world of Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Timesbestselling Selection series are now available in print for the first time.The Prince and The Guard both offer captivating views into the hearts and minds of the two men fighting to win America Singer’s love. This collection also features exclusive bonus content, including a sneak peek atThe One, the eagerly anticipated third novel in the Selection series.

Before America arrived at the palace to compete in the Selection, there was another girl in Prince Maxon’s life. The Prince opens the week before the Selection begins and follows Maxon through the first day of the competition.

Raised as a Six, Aspen Leger never dreamed that he would find himself living in the palace as a member of the royal guard. In The Guard, readers get an inside look at Aspen’s life within the palace walls—and the truth about a guard’s world that America will never know.

My Thoughts:

These are the first novellas I’ve ever read & I really like the idea. I think it’s cool. I really enjoyed The Prince, it gave more of a view on Maxon’s thoughts towards the selection, & it also gave you a better look into the personalities of the King & Queen. The Guard I really could have cared less about, if you’re team Maxon like I was it makes you dislike Aspen even more than you did before, other than that I thought that they were really good.

Content Guide:

Violence: **( In The Guard it shows one of the Rebel attacks from the view of Aspen, as well as the caning that takes place.)

Drugs/Alcohol: None

Inappropriate Language: *(The Prince – 2 d words, 2 h*ll’s  | The Guard – None)

Sexual Content: * (The Prince – Talking about loving someone, a character asks to be kissed | The Guard – Kissing, & Caressing)

Magic/Spells: None

My Overall Score:

3-5-stars-1024x238

Happy Reading

Alisha

Book Info:

Type: Trade Paperback

Publishing: Harper Teen | February 4th, 2014

Pages: 227

Book Review: The One by Kiera Cass (The Selection #3)

The-One-by-Kiera-Cass-cover

CassKiera-ap1-c

Hello, this was my favourite book out of the whole series, let’s get started.

Synopsis:

THE SELECTION changed the lives of thirty-five girls forever. Now, only one will claim Prince Maxon’s heart…

It’s swoon meets the Hunger Games in the final instalment of THE SELECTION trilogy!

For the four girls who remain at the palace, the friendships they’ve formed, rivalries they’ve struggled with and dangers they’ve faced have bound them to each other for the rest of their lives.

Now, the time has come for one winner to be chosen.

America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown – or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the competition approaches its end and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realises just how much she stands to lose – and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

The breathtaking finale to THE SELECTION trilogy will make you swoon!

My Thoughts:

Can we just take a minute & admire the covers of this series, STUNNING! The dress on this cover is a Pnina Tornai dress that sells retail price for $25,000. That girl is very lucky to have worn that dress not only for the cover, but for the book trailer. Okay, enough about the swoon worthy covers. This book out of the 3 was my favourite, though it’s kind of predictable, there were also some things in the story that I did not expect at all. I thought it was a great wrap up to the trilogy & I’m excited to get more of a glimpse into what takes place after in the novella The Queen that comes out in September. Again, this series wasn’t amazing in the sense of writing, but it’s very enjoyable & keeps you on the edge of your seat. The characters are very likeable & also put you through some drama that makes you want to keep reading. Again, I wouldn’t recommend this series for anyone under the age of 15 because again there are some steamy scenes, nothing to extreme but still.

Content Guide:

Violence: ** (There’s hand-to-hand combat, use of weapons such as gun. A character gets shot in the head & two characters die. It’s not described though.)

Drugs/Alcohol: * (Same as before mention of it at parties)

Inappropriate Language: * (7 d words, 1 b word, 6 he**s)

Sexual Content: *** ( Kissing, caressing face and body, hugging, hand holding, and laying in bed together, but no sexual intercourse. Even though there isn’t any sex there is one scene that is pretty close to the point where they start removing clothing, but they stop because the guy wants to honour the girl on their wedding night.)

Magic/Spells: None

My Overall Score:

4star

Happy Reading

owl

Alisha

Book Info:

Type: Trade Paperback

Publishing: Harper Teen | June 5th, 2014

Pages: 323

Author: Kiera Cass – http://www.kieracass.com twitter: https://twitter.com/kieracass instagram: @partylikeawordstar

Book Review: The Elite by Kiera Cass (The Selection #2)

Print

CassKiera-ap1-c

Hi everyone, I know I haven’t posted any reviews on here in a while, I have been reading quite a lot so you’re going to be getting an influx of reviews today. I’m leaving for vacation tomorrow & want to be all caught up, because of course I’m going to be spending a lot of my time reading while I’m away. Also I have some new & exciting changes coming to my blog here. I recently started a Youtube channel & the topic is books, so as well as written reviews I will be including videos on here as well. I may post an older video on here today so you can see what I’m looking at reading while on vacation, but I’m not 100% sure if I’m going to do that. Anyways let’s get to this review.

Synopsis:

The hotly-anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestseller The Selection.

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.

My Thoughts:

I thought this was a good sequel to the first book. America our main character started to get annoying towards the end of the first book & let me just say if you thought she was annoying then, she’s worse in this one. This series is one of those series that’s filled with drama & romance. It’s a fun light read, I like to think of it as cotton candy. It’s very addicting, the writing isn’t anything special, I did enjoy the character development a lot more in this book I just think these are really enjoyable reads. Every girl needs a girly book every once and a while & honestly, these covers are just gorgeous I can’t get enough of them. I would recommend these books to girls who love the idea of being a princess, as well as some drama. Age recommendation would be probably 15, even though there is no sex in these books some of the scenes can get pretty steamy.

Content Guide:

Violence: *** (There’s more violence in Book 2 than there was in The Selection. The ongoing fight between the Northerners and the Southerners of Illea is getting worse and more vicious. There are battles on the palace grounds in which guards and staff are hurt or killed. Three characters receive corporal punishment — two for being discovered in a compromising situation in which one character is caned on the back several times & the other is caned on the hands several times, the other is abused by his father. A cat fight occurs between America and fellow competitor Celeste, nothing major just a punch a few scratches. America gets into a fight with Maxon and pushes him.  The King is very nasty and cruel.)

Drugs/Alcohol: * (There’s always mention of drinking at parties)

Inappropriate Language: * ( 8 d words, 4 hells)

Sexual Content: ** (Flirting, kissing, caressing. A kissing scene between Aspen and America is a bit rough and aggressive, with him grabbing her arms and forcing himself on her.)

Magic/Spells: None

My Overall Score:

3-5-stars-1024x238

Happy Reading

owl

Book to Movie Adaptation Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

tfios

john green-385

the-fault-in-ours-stars-lg

I’m SO excited to talk to you guys about this movie!!! So I’m going to give you the synopsis of the book so you can get a clearer idea of what the movie is about.

Synopsis:

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

My Thoughts:

Okay, so I read this book about a year ago & I just loved it! There were a few things that I didn’t agree with in the original story so I ended up reading an edited version that took out the language in it. So when I heard it was being made into a movie I literally freaked out & called one of my friends who had read the book & loved it as much as I did & we planned to see it. So when I found out that there was an advanced screening last night I jumped at the opportunity. I purchased the tickets & I later found out the show was sold out. So last night I was finally able to see the movie & it was AMAZING! Now I’m sure you’re all wondering if I cried. I didn’t cry, but the whole theatre erupted into sobbing numerous times. I don’t think the actors could of been better. Though they didn’t necessarily look the way I thought they would, every single one of them did an AMAZING job especially Shaliene Woodley & Ansel Elgort our stars. I had never seen either one of them in anything & I don’ t think they could of picked anybody better. Now when it comes to the story it was incredible seeing it come to life before your very eyes. Other then a few things I could of done with out(which I will get to in the content guide) I thought it was perfect & they couldn’t of done a better job. My personal recommendation for the different people I know, I wouldn’t recommend this movie to anyone under the age of 16.

Content Guide:

Violence: * (Mention of blood, guts, & gore as a joke when it comes to writing a book)

Drugs/Alcohol: *(Hazel & Gus go to a restaurant while in Amsterdam & drink some champagne, mention of being allowed to have a fake ID, go to a club, & take pot it then gets made into a joke)

Inappropriate Language: (1 f word, 5-6 s words, 4 a*s h**es, 1 d**che, 1 d word 1 b**ch uttered in a movie our main characters are watching.)

Sexual Content: ***(The two share a tender kiss in Anne Frank’s house. Then they tumble into Gus’ hotel room and have implied sex, they show kissing & them taking off their shirts, & then Hazel takes off her bra it cuts off in the book it ends up them falling asleep & that’s what basically happens in the movie. Gus is a virgin & he makes a joke about it. There’s also a joke where Hazel’s Mom sees her reading a new book & asks if Gus gave it to her, & Hazel looks at her & jokingly says you mean Herpes. There’s also a scene where a side character named Isaac is kissing his girlfriend & then proceeds to grab her boob. He also makes a comment of a girl having big boobs[he doesn't say this from my memory he makes a hand motion, I didn't get it at first], & they make a joke about how he knows if he’s blind, & he says he’s not that blind.)

Magic/Spells: None

Even though there is some stuff I wish wasn’t in there the message of the story which is as long as there’s hope, there’s life. It really does make you look at life & the way you’re living differently.

My Overall Score:

4star

Book Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass (The Selection #1)

theselection

CassKiera-ap1-c

I’m catching up, so you’re going to get 2 or 3 reviews today.

Synopsis:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

My Thoughts:

Okay so I really enjoyed this book. It’s just a fun, light read. It’s nothing important it’s what I like to call fluff. It’s like cotton candy, you just read them for fun. It’s a princessy book & every girl needs one of those every once & a while. The way I would describe this book is like the bachelor with a Prince being the prize. I enjoyed the characters & the writing was nothing special, but it did it’s job well. There were some things I found weird & cliche like the fact that America’s name is well America & that she’s a singer/musician & her last name is singer. It doesn’t really make any sense to me & I find it really cheesy. Another thing is I wouldn’t call this a dystopian novel. It’s definitely a dystopian world, but it’s more of a romance novel with a dystopian backdrop. Other then that I really thought this was a fun book to read.

Content Guide:

Violence: ** (There’s talk about Illea’s history which involves war, there are rebels that attack the Castle & the Southerns are talked about being the more vicious ones & that they leave dead people as well as people wounded. America hits Maxon in the thigh at one point.)

Drugs/Alcohol: None

Inappropriate Language: *(8 d**ns, 18 h*lls)

Sexual Content: **(Kissing, having sex before marriage is illegal & if caught not being a virgin or pregnant you could be killed, America & Aspen don’t have sex but make out at times on a bed & there’s minor description of touching sides & the feel of his hand on her skin.)

Magic/Spells: None

My Overall Score:

3-5-stars-1024x238

Happy Reading

owl

Alisha

Book Info:

Type: Trade Paperback

Publishing: Harper Teen | March 26th, 2013

Pages: 327

Author: Kiera Cass – http://www.kieracass.com twitter: https://twitter.com/kieracass instagram: @partylikeawordstar

Book Review: A Lasting Impression by Tamera Alexander (A Belmont Mansion Novel #1)

alastingimpression Tamara-Alexander-2011

Hey guys, it’s been quite awhile since I posted last & I promise I will be more regular on here. I have some exciting news though. I’ve started a YouTube channel where I talk about books, do book hauls, book tags, & a whole bunch of other fun stuff. You can check that out here -> https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFThvbsFARIO5gWaLW2eBdQ  You can keep up to date with me there as well. So let’s get to this review.

Synopsis:

After an unwanted past, Claire strives to create something that will last as an artist among Nashville’s elite society in the 1860s.

Claire Laurent’s greatest aspiration is to paint something that will bring her acclaim. Yet her father insists she work as a copyist. A forger. When she’s forced to flee her home, her path collides with attorney Sutton Monroe, who shows her kindness by not turning her in to authorities. But when he later refuses to come to her aid, Claire fears she’s sorely misjudged him. Finding herself among the elite of Nashville society, Claire believes her dream of creating a lasting impression in the world of art is within reach–but only if her past remains hidden.

The Federal Army destroyed Sutton’s home, confiscated his land, and threatens to destroy his family’s honor. His determination to reclaim what belongs to him reveals a truth that may cost him more than he ever imagined–as well as the woman he loves.

Set at Nashville’s historic Belmont Mansion, a stunning antebellum manor built by Adelicia Acklen, A Lasting Impression is a sweeping love story about a nation mending after war, the redemption of those wounded, and the courage of a man and woman to see themselves–and each other–for who they really are.

My Thoughts:

This book was really enjoyable. This is only my second Historical fiction book & I loved it as well, it’s a pretty big book, but it does not disappoint. There were times where I kind of felt that the story dragged on a little bit, & our main character was putting something off, & had she of done it sooner the story would of moved a lot quicker. I loved the romance that was laced throughout the story, the importance of telling the truth, as well as the topic of using your talents for God. I thought this was super enjoyable, a really easy read, & just an overall fun book. I connected to our main character quite quickly, I felt the characters were really dynamic, & the setting of the book was absolutely gorgeous. Belmont Mansion is a real place & hearing about it within the pages of this book really makes me want to visit. I thought this was a great read & I would recommend it to anybody.

Here’s a picture with the author in front of the actual Belmont Mansion:

Belmont_Greenhouse and Gardens 043

Content Guide:

Violence: ** (There’s mention of a war that took place & how Sutton’s father was killed, Claire’s father dies through a murder that takes place, there’s also a side character that smacks Claire across the face, & there’s another side character in the beginning that has negative intentions towards Claire)

Drugs/Alcohol: * (There’s mention of wine & champagne & drinking it)

Inappropriate Language: None

Sexual Content:* (Kissing, hugging, thoughts of a young man wanting to be with a woman, thoughts of a young woman wanting to be with a man, falling in love, a side character has negative intentions towards Claire)

Magic/Spells: None

My Overall Score

five-stars

Happy Reading

owl

Alisha

Book Info:

Type: Paperback

Publishing: Bethany House Publishing | October 15th 2011

Pages: 432

Author: Tamera Alexander – http://www.tameraalexander.com Blog: – http://tameraalexander.blogspot.ca

Why I’ve Been MIA

Hey friends,

I just wanted to talk about why I haven’e=t really been posting on here & why I’ve missed two Top 5 Wednesday’s in a row. The reason being is SCHOOL, isn’t that a shocker! I’m in my last 2 weeks of school & it’s been incredibly busy. I haven’t spent much time reading, in fact the only books I’ve finished are school books. So since I haven’t been on here & probably won’t post next week either as a distraction I thought I would let you know about some read-a-thon’s. Now some of you may be asking what is a read-a-thon? Well a read-a-thon is basically a way to get together & read, there’s a common theme with a read-a-thon, as well as sometimes there’s challenges & interactive games you can play on twitter when it comes to your reading.

So the 1st read-a-thon I would like to talk about is the #AYEARATHON .

AYEARATHON

So there is a goodreads group -> https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/123987-ayearathon which will give you more information or if you would like to join in. #AYEARATHON basically every month for one week has a themed read-a-thon to help you read more. The one that just happened this past week was series. Series you want to start or finish. It’s a pretty cool idea and depending on what it is per month I will be participating. If you participate in this don’t forget to use the hashtag.

Now the second read-a-thon I would like to mention is the Bout of Books 10.o read-a-thon.

BoB10-200x200

I took place in this one last year. & it was quite fun. You can sign up to participate here -> http://boutofbooks.blogspot.ca/2014/04/bout-of-books-10-sign-up.html

Here’s some info The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 12th and runs through Sunday, May 18th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 10 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. - From the Bout of Books team

You can also follow them on twitter -> https://twitter.com/boutofbooks, https://twitter.com/BookBender, & https://twitter.com/soulswallo

& Like their page on Facebook -> https://www.facebook.com/pages/Bout-of-Books/556162917743173

Now for you to be entered into the Giveaway you have to make sure you sign up.

Anyways I hope you guys enjoy these read-a-thon’s if you decide to participate in them.

List of Upcoming Reviews

1. A Lasting Impression by Tamera Alexander (A Belmont Mansion Novel #1)

2. A Beauty So Rare by Tamera Alexander (A Belmont Mansion Novel #2)

3. Love Comes Calling by Siri Mitchell

4. Gathering Shadows  by Nancy Mehl (Finding Sanctuary #1)

5.  The Here and Now by Anne Brashares

Happy Reading!

The Book Dealer

owl

Top 5 Wednesday #T5WFamily

118368

Hey guys it’s that time of week again. & honestly I thought last week’s was hard. This is a lot harder.

The topic this week is Top 5 Siblings :

978-1-4143-1947-6978-1-4143-1948-3

#5 The two siblings are Sadie & Saskia from the Doppleganger Chronicles by G.P. Taylor. These two sisters were fun to read about & I really liked how they were always there for each other & if something happened to the other one they would do their best to find each other.

snicket

#4 The three siblings are Violet, Klaus, & Sunny Baudelaire from A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket (Daniel Handler). I’ve read the first three books & I just love these siblings the way they interact with each other & are always there for one another.  I think out of the three Sunny is my favourite she brings the comedy to the bunch.

UnknownUnknown-1

#3 The twin siblings Elisha & Elijah from the Veritas Project by Frank Peretti these twins are dynamic & quite funny they also stick up for one another & always have each other’s backs & I really enjoyed reading about the two of them.

8428195

#2 features the twelve sisters from Entwined by Heather Dixon, I loved these sisters. They are absolutely hilarious & they all have their own personalities that are so different but they’re great together & as well they all have a  way of bringing dynamic to the story as well as comedy.

hungergamescover

#1 Katniss & Primrose Everdeen from the Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins. Well the whole story revolves around Katniss sacrificing herself for her sister Primrose & let me just say their relationship pulls at your heartstrings. What they have is very special & the way Katniss cares for Primrose & wants to protect her & the way Primrose looks up to Katniss is so sweet.

Well guys that’s it for this week, check back every Wednesday for more post like these.

Creator gingerreadslainey on Youtube -> https://www.youtube.com/user/gingerreadslainey

Goodreads group -> https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday

List of Top 5 Wednesday-ers -> https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/1608567-complete-list-of-wednesday-ers

Happy Reading

owl

Alisha