Book Review: Anything But Typical by Nora Raleigh Baskin

anything-but-typical

Nora_7199_8x10-1-300x240

Synopsis:

Jason Blake is an autistic 12-year-old living in a neurotypical world. Most days it’s just a matter of time before something goes wrong. But Jason finds a glimmer of understanding when he comes across PhoenixBird, who posts stories to the same online site as he does.

Jason can be himself when he writes and he thinks that PhoneixBird—her name is Rebecca—could be his first real friend. But as desperate as Jason is to met her, he’s terrified that if they do meet, Rebecca will only see his autism and not who Jason really is.

By acclaimed writer Nora Raleigh Baskin, this is the breathtaking depiction of an autistic boy’s struggles—and a story for anyone who has ever worried about fitting in.

My Thoughts:

I really liked this book. It was recommended to me because I read Wonder by R.J. Palicio. Though I don’t find this one near as good it was still very enjoyable. I have a soft sport for children with disorders & being able to read from an autistic boys perspective is really interesting. Though there isn’t any action or anything like that it’s a very slow-paced read, but it helps you to appreciate the life you’ve been given & also not to look over people who are handicapped because you may just learn something. I recommend this for any age.

Content Guide:

Violence: *  (Hitting)

Drugs/Alcohol: None

Inappropriate Language: None

Sexual Content: None

Magic/Spells: None

My Overall Score:

4star

Happy Reading

owl

Alisha

Book Info:

Type: Hardcover

Publishing:    Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers| March 24th 2009

Pages: 208

Book Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass #2)

Unknown-2

sarah-j-maas

DISCLAIMER: This book is a fantasy novel & our main character is an assassin there is quite a lot of violence as well as magic systems & other fantasy type things.

Synopsis:“A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached.

It puts this entire castle in jeopardy—and the life of your friend.”

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie…and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

My Thoughts:

I liked this book more than the first one. It was much better, now that the story & characters are/is more developed it’s more enjoyable to read. There’s a lot more to the mythology & questions from the last book get answered in this one & there’s more intrigue & the characters are even better. Just I don’t know what to say it’s such a good book & it keeps you on the edge of your seat wanting more. Again, If you have any problem with violence or magic these books are not for you.  I also wouldn’t recommend this for anyone under 16.

Content Guide:

Violence:****  (Celaena is supposed to be killing people for the king, but she fakes their deaths. She brings back severed heads and hands from corpses.  Celaena remembers her time in a prison camp. Guards whipping slaves to near death, including herself. One day she gets loose and kills a bunch of them with an ax, very bloody, cutting off heads, blood etc. slaughter of kidnappers SPOILER AHEAD: Nehemia killed brutally . Stabbing, torture, cut off finger, decapitated.)

Drugs/Alcohol:* (Mention of drinking wine)

Inappropriate Language:  (D**n, A**, Hell, 2 bit*, 2 sh**)

Sexual Content:****  (Archer is a courtesan & is paid to have sex with mainly women. There is a scene where he’s telling Celaena about one of his clients & how he has info for her & it’s a man[nothing descriptive is said about any of his encounters] Innuendo. Celaena and Chaol have sex. Mention of them in her bed, skin on skin and her giving everything to him. Chaol thinks about their first time together, how he tried to be gentle but she winced from pain anyway, but she didn’t want to stop. Celaena thinks she need to talk to someone about a drug to keep her from getting pregnant. It is implied Calaena & Chaol have sex in a broom closet [nothing is  described at all].

Magic/Spells: ****(Again there is more detail into the Wyrdmarks, there are multiple books with signs & the different spells in them, Nehemia begins to teach Celaena how to read Wyrdmarks as she is fluent with them. There is a book called The Walking Dead that has information on signs, different spells, creatures, & whole bunch of other stuff. There is a door knocker that is enchanted & it can speak, The Fae Queen appears to Celaena on different occasions. Prince Dorian realizes he has magic, but can’t control it. The Fae King awakes Prince Dorian in a dream warning him of danger. Celaena opens a Wryddoor to summon Nehemia she comes to her but only stays for a minute, then accidentally the Wyrdmark gets changed & it goes to another world, where this weird creature comes out of it. Chaol & Fleetfoot(her dog) go through a portal, Celaena goes through the portal & SPOILER ALERT: She turns into a Fae. The King also has these black rings that give him magic. Celaena also opens all these sealed doors with these spells & unleashes what looks to be like a zombie, but is actually a man who’s been brutally tortured.

My Overall Score:

five-stars

Happy Reading

owl

Alisha

Book Info:

Type: Kobo Edition

Publishing:   Bloomsbury USA Childrens| August 27th, 2013

Pages: 420

Book Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass #1)

Unknown-1 12.50.44 PM

sarah-j-maas

DISCLAIMER: This book is a fantasy novel & our main character is an assassin there is quite a lot of violence as well as magic systems & other fantasy type things.

Book Trailer:

Synopsis:

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her, her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom.

Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another.

Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

My Thoughts:

This is my first YA fantasy & I really enjoyed it. If you have any problem with violence or magic these books are not for you. I thought this book was really intriguing I liked the storyline & all the mystery involved. I thought the character development was done really well, especially with Celaena. I also really liked how we had a real kick butt heroine in this book, who wasn’t afraid to do what she needed to do & didn’t shy away from the things that were set before her. I thought this was a great first book in a series & I’m excited for this 6 book series. I wouldn’t recommend this for anyone under 16 years old.

Content Guide:

Violence:  ***** (Celaena and other prisoners are whipped and forced to work in the salt mines. Mention of Celaena throwing herself in the icy river when she was a young girl [attempting to kill herself]. Mention that Celaena once tried to escape, killing many guards. She never actually intended on escaping, she expected to be killed. Celaena and others fight to become the king’s champion. Celaena mentions killing someone with a pickaxe. A man is said to eat the eyeballs of his victims [this never takes place or is described.] One of the competitors was murdered, “someone ripped him wide open. “Stories of men who killed their families then themselves rather than be taken by the enemy. Mention of a guard that raped and killed a prisoner. Another champion is found killed and half eaten. Fighting between the champions. Celaena’s shoulder dislocated and relocated with a crunch. Noses broken, thigh slashed with a sword, blood etc. “….plunged his sword through (his) heart. Blood erupted everywhere, showering (his) arms, his head, his clothes.”)

Drugs/Alcohol:** (There’s mention of drinking wine)

Inappropriate Language:**  (3 a** , Multiple uses of damn, 1 “gods damn him”, 1 bastard, 2 bit**)

Sexual Content: ***  (Mention that the Prince likes his girls, and that some may assume that Celaena is one of them. The Prince’s father warns him against messing around with peasant women, saying they don’t need any illegitimate heirs before having legitimate ones. Some sexual innuendo/harassment “you’d be better off on your back learning tricks useful to a woman. I can teach you tonight…” Sexual comments to Celaena asking if she opened her legs for someone. <– Those comments were made to make her upset as she was the only female in the competition. Mention of how The week before Yulemas was a time of the carnal pleasures that kept one warm on a winter’s night, and how Dorian usually enjoyed it.)

Magic/Spells: **** (There’s quite a lot of magic in this series. It’s based off of Fae[Fairies] mythology there are things called Wyrdmarks that must be drawn & if you then speak words over those marks a certain spell takes place. In this particular book there is one character who is fooling with these Wyrdmarks & opens a portal to another world & lets out a Ridderrak which they consider a demon. This demon responds to these certain Wyrdmarks & it is the thing that is eating/killing these champions. With every champion that is killed the person doing these things gains those champions powers. Also magic was supposedly banned in the kingdom & anyone associated with magic would be killed, as well as all the Fae were destroyed & everyone thought that it had disappeared, but obviously not. Also if you have magic in your bloodline, people can manipulate you into seeing things, there’s a scene where they same character messing with the Wyrdmarks poisons Celaena & she starts to see gargoyles & other scary creatures. Celaena also sees the spirit of the long-lost Fae queen who speaks to her & gives her a special necklace to protect her from evil/danger. This queen also appears again during the fight when Celaena’s friend summons her to help save her.)

My Overall Score:

4star

Happy Reading

owl

Alisha

Book Info:

Type: Kobo Edition

Publishing:   Bloomsbury USA Childrens| August 2nd, 2012

Pages: 432

Book Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman (If I Stay #1)

Unknown 12.50.44 PM

Unknown

Hello again, I read an edited version of this book where I took out the language, so this review is going to be based on the non edited version so you guys know what’s in the actual book. Also this is another book that’s being tuned into a movie, I’ll post it down below.

Synopsis:

Just listen, Adam says with a voice that sounds like shrapnel.

I open my eyes wide now.
I sit up as much as I can.
And I listen.

Stay, he says.

Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind?

Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it’s the only one that matters.

If I Stay is a heartachingly beautiful book about the power of love, the true meaning of family, and the choices we all make.

My Thoughts:

Okay, well I can’t even watch the trailer of this movie without tearing up. I really enjoyed this book, but I also had some problems with the character development. This isn’t a spoiler, but Mia is in a coma for this whole book & the rest of her family has died. This happens right at the beginning of the book. I didn’t feel very connected to Mia & her family so I was kind of like oh, that stinks I’m sorry, the development doesn’t come until after Mia is in a coma & you’re getting flash backs of things that have taken place in her life. I thought this was a very cool idea, but I also felt it strange because when this tragedy takes place I don’t really feel the impact of it due to the lack of character development. That being said overall I enjoyed the story & that ending, whoooo does it ever leave you hanging. I would recommend this to people over the age of 16, in the original there is some questionable stuff.

Content Guide:

Violence: *** ( A gruesome car accident, graphically described (“gray chunks of what looks like cauliflower,” etc.). Several characters are killed, and Mia has horrific injuries. Two girls have a fight)

Drugs/Alcohol: ** (Mia’s father smokes a pipe, and she likes the smell; drinking and drunkenness; children drink wine as part of a religious ceremony.)

Inappropriate Language: **** (11 Fu**, 2 A**hole, 5 Bit**, 5 Hell, 15 Sh**, 2 A**, 4 Da**, 1 godda**, 2 Jesus, 1 God, 1 Di**)

Sexual Content: *** (Five kissing scenes with some details. Mia says that she is a virgin but certainly not devoted to staying that way.  Adam is not a virgin. There is a big seduction scene which takes place in Mia’s home with her parents’ awareness of the general situation.  The scene isn’t what I would call “graphic” but is heavily detailed in what happens leading up to the end. “Making out” is referenced (no details) Mia references that Adam said she stole the covers &  Mia “told Adam he probably shouldn’t stay over.”)

Magic/Spells: None

My Overall Score:

3-5-stars-1024x238

Happy Reading

owl

Alisha

Book Info:

Type: Kobo Edition

Publishing:  Speak Publishing | April 2nd, 2009

Pages: 212

Book Review: The Giver by Lois Lowry (The Giver Quartet #1)

giver images

Hi everyone, I’m almost finished vacation so I thought I would get my blog all updated. This book was amazing & it’s also being turned into a movie, I’ll post the trailer down below.

Synopsis:

Jonas’ world is perfect. Everything is under control. There is no war or fear or pain. There are no choices. Every person is assigned a role in the Community. When Jonas turns twelve, he is singled out to receive special training from The Giver. The Giver alone holds the memories of the true pain and pleasure of life. Now, it is time for Jonas to receive the truth. There is no turning back.

My Thoughts:

This book was absolutely amazing! I was told by a friend that this was one of his favourite books & I’ve heard nothing but great things about this book for a long time. So when I found out it was being turned into a movie I really wanted to read it. This was the first book I picked up while on vacation & I read it in a couple of hours. It’s not that big of a book, but it is packed full of goodness. The character development was great, the writing was awesome, & just the overall storyline was amazing. I thought this book was really well done & it’s also super interesting. This book really makes you appreciate the beauty of life & the freedom we have to make choices. This is the first book of a 4 book series. Though this book could be read as a novel because the other books are set in the same world, but follow different characters. I would recommend this book to anyone of any age.V

Content Guide:

Violence: ** ( Unwanted members of society which consists of the young that are not healthy, the old, & sometimes criminals are executed. Jonas discovers that his father executes unwanted babies & lies about doing it, it’s just an injection into the top of the head it’s not done in a violent way.)

Drugs/Alcohol: None

Inappropriate Language: None

Sexual Content: * (Young teens bathe the elderly. Jonas begins experiencing “stirrings” <– which are hormones that cause you to have feelings for someone. It also talks about Jonas having a dream where he wants to bathe a certain girl like he does the elderly, the girl refuses & runs off, that’s how he knows he has developed “stirrings.” He then takes a pill that terminates these “stirrings.”)

Magic/Spells: None

My Overall Score:

five-stars

Happy Reading

owl

Alisha

Book Info:

Type: Kobo Edition

Publishing:  Houghton Mifflin Company | April 26th, 1993

Pages: 240

Book Review: The Maze Runner by James Dashner (The Maze Runner #1)

The_Maze_Runner_coverJamesDashner1

I’m pretty excited to talk about this. If you didn’t know this book is turning into a movie, I’ll leave the trailer below.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K1In45K0DGc

Synopsis:

“If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.”

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers–boys whose memories are also gone.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out–and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying

My Thoughts:

So I’ve been told by countless people who I need to read this book because it’s amazing & I’ll love it. I had also watched the movie trailer & decided it’s time, I want to see the movie in September, but I want to read the book first. My younger brother also wanted to read it & we decided to split the cost & bought the box set. Going into it I had super-duper high expectations, but I was kind of let down. I was so bored for more than half of the book. Once I had maybe 20 chapters left it started getting good up until that point there was a lot of just standing around, & asking questions & it got super annoying. There are multiple characters you’re being told about it & sometimes it’s a little overwhelming. I do have to say the last 20 chapters totally redeemed the book for me. I really enjoyed the last part of the book. My brother has finished the whole series in exactly a week & promises me that they get better. There is some violence in this book, so I would leave it up to the parent to decided what age they think would be appropriate since every person is different. I liked this book, but it’s not my favourite dystopian book I’ve read.

Content Guide:

Violence: **** (The book shows a violent world where chosen children in a maze are mere pawns. They face mortal danger from the monsters outside the walls and mortal danger inside from boys who have been stung (but not killed) by the monsters. Some boys go insane. Boys attack monsters with guns, knives, and spears. Adult Creators of the Maze control everyone in it and don’t stop at murdering children. Disease and pestilence run rampant in the outside world. A climax where many characters are killed by gunfire.)

Drugs/Alcohol: None

Inappropriate Language: ** (93 bloodies)

Sexual content: None

Magic/Spells: None

My Overall Score:

3-5-stars-1024x238

Happy Reading

owl

Alisha

Book Info:

Type: Trade Paperback

Publishing: Delcatore | August 24th, 2010

Pages: 375